About the network

The network “Global Legal Studies Network” (GLSN) of the Foundation of the MSH Paris aims to link researchers, teachers, experts, practitioners, French and foreign, who devote themselves to the globalization of law.

What are the aims of the network? How to use the website?

What are the aims of the GLS network?

All around the "world" of research, centers on the globalization of law are created, teaching programs and magazines devoted to it. Topics gradually are specified: "global justice", "global governance", "global regulation" ... movement of goods and people, the emergence or transformation of cultural and political spaces, financial and business regulation... The traditional legal cultural era (common law, Europe, Africa, Asia ...) are partially blended with legal practice and legal thinking more and more "global". Appears what might be called more accurately a trans-continental thought "in the double meaning of the" crossing " of a continent, but also in what is" beyond " a continent. Linking these centers and researchers spread across continents, then enable French researchers to better connect with the great scientific debates of the global legal thought - and with this global community of researchers in training. This also allows a renewed dialogue between law and social science, research on globalization being characterized by an abandonment of legal positivism and openness to social science ("Law and ..."). The network will analyze and better distinguish the emerging themes, as well as research sites in this globalization of law. By providing this work of analysis, it will facilitate linked and joint research projects that may be foreign projects with the mere participation of French researchers.

Specifically, the network will initially form a "portal" of the globalization of law hosted by the FMSH as a "thematic" and "geographical" program. The homepage is done in HTML, an image of the glob aims to propose a dynamic picture illustrating the idea of globalization. Bubbles represent "islands" which are research centers or French or European or Japanese networks.... selected by the coordinator as special representative of an object of global legal thinking. The site is run by a "coordinator", Gilles Lhuilier and "correspondents" either by regions of globalization of law, different from traditional cultural areas of Comparative Law (Africa, Anglo-Saxon worlds, Asies ...) or by subjects or topics (e.g. Isabelle Giraudou, a researcher at the Research Institute of the Franco-Japanese House, is especially looking at "the emergence of an Asian area of business law", Asia being then a conceptual area comprising Japan, China, HK, Singapore, Vietnam, Indonesia, India, and also Africa). A "scientific board", or rather a "board of analysis", will be consisting of the "coordinator", "correspondents" and personalities from the world of research. An “Annual Report on Global Law” is edited by the Board of Analysis.

This site is hosted by the Foundation of the MSH Paris, and produced with the technical assistance of Laurent Cournede (IMN of Nantes). The coordinator’s e-mail is glsn_at_orange.fr.

 

How to use the GLSN website?

The « Global Legal Studies Network » web site proposes six different entries:

About the network
Globalization portal
Analysis of global Law
Global news
Global legal podcasts, videos
Selected research centers
Selected Global Academic Journals on the net
GLSN news

How to use these various entries?


Globalization portal

The links of this page are all dealing with international law and the globalization of law and, as such, are necessary to both researchers and practitioners. These links refer to general web sites, in order to find legal sources; or they refer – more specifically – to web sites offering an access to international treaties, or to the official sites of States, international organizations, courts of justice and tribunals, non-governmental international organizations, international academic societies, local portals grouped by continents (Africa, Asia, etc.). See for example the Asian continent’s web sites, and more specifically those dealing with Japan. Tending to be exhaustive, these links constitute a working tool. As such, they differ from the links dealing with the “Selected Research Centers”, chosen by GLSN. The links of the page “Globalization Portal” need to be completed by those listed in the “Selected Research Centers” page.



Analysis of global law

A “scientific council”, or to say it better a “Group of Analysis”, is composed of a “coordinator”, “correspondents” and some personalities from the academic and research world. Once per year, this group tries to analyze and to identify more precisely the emerging subjects as well as the research locus where such a globalization of law is developing. In doing so, it will offer a real map of the global legal thinking, dealing both with positive law and the theory of law.

The various scientific hypothesis of this collective research work on contemporary legal thinking are presented in a text of about 10 pages and dealing in particular with the following subjects: “transcontinental thinking”, “passage from positivist to hermeneutic thinking”, pure legal thinking and critical legal thinking, positive law and theory, etc. In particular, this page attempts to define what are the “legal thinking continents” and to identify such “spaces of thinking” as spaces of practice/theory; it also offers a preliminary “cartography of legal thinking”, with its various “rocks and islands” as well as a temporary list of these objects-spaces of contemporary legal thinking:

1) Alliance or Clash of Civilizations?;
2) A Legal and Political Analysis;
3) Secularism and the Rule of Law;
4) Efficiency, Sustainability, and Justice for Future Generations;
5) Formal and Substantial Reasoning in Legal Interpretation and Adjudication;
6) How General is General Jurisprudence;
7) Human Dignity and the Foundation of the Rule of Law;
8) Corporate Governance in China…


Global news

These links deal with global law news. They refer to web sites specialized according to subjects (for example, in international criminal law, see “International Penal Law News”) or to continents. For example, as for China, an official information web site (China Daily) but also two main alternative web sites have been selected. This page allows to actualize one’s research on a specific subject (for example, in positive law, on merger-acquisitions) in various countries.


Global legal podcasts, videos

This page mainly refers to universities’ podcasts, recording their conferences and other scientific events, which gives an overview of the relevant issues currently dealt with. This page also lists some individual podcasts: here, have been selected the podcasts of different personalities, particularly representative of what we can call global legal thinking. See, for example, the London School of Economics’ web site.


Selected research centers

This link refers to those of the research centers which are particularly representative of such global legal thinking. This entry gives an access to the way current issues are formulated by the relevant research centers on a given domain of positive law (see for example, and as far as WTO law is concerned, the Institute for Globalization and International Regulation of Maastricht University). This entry helps also to define a cartography of global legal thinking, for example by comparing the so-called “African Studies” in the United States (IAS), in Great Britain (SOAS) and in Africa (CODESTRIA).

Such an entry is necessarily subjective, even if it follows the lines as well as the working hypothesis developed by “GLSN”. For example, in Japan, two important universities could have been selected: Tokyo University (the most prestigious public university) and Waseda University (one of the most famous private university there). Tokyo University is without any doubt more active internationally. However, Waseda University has developed a more original approach, since it turns not any more exclusively toward the West (comparative law being a discipline rooted in the West), but also and significantly to the East, attempting to explore differently comparative law, in a way nearly similar to the so-called Asian Studies though remaining focused on specific Japanese “values” or “categories”. In this sense, such an entry is representative of one particular trend of a global legal thinking in construction.


Selected Global Journals on the net

This link refers first – nearly exhaustively - to lists of academic journals available on the net all over the world; and, second, to a selection of some “global reviews”, thus giving access to the various subjects and authors of this planet of GLS. It is for example possible to find Berkeley Electronic Press (Online academic press of Berkeley University, included “Global Jurist” and “Asian Journal of Comparative Law”), as well as the “Global Policy Journal”, the most recent review on GLS, created by the London School of Economics.


GLSN news

This entry already refer to collectives reasearches, workshops, seminars and colloquium, and to international networks' links to GLSN. This entry will soon refer to a collection of books dedicated to GLS, comparatism... including the annual report of GLSN, but also to an itinerant academic chair of global Law, a network of “short term visiting professors”. Autors are invited to contact glsn_at_orange.fr.

FMSH
GLSN GLSN

     Global Legal Studies Network

french

Présentation du réseau

Le réseau « Mondialisation du droit – Global Legal Studies Network » de la Fondation de la M.S.H. Paris vise à relier les chercheurs, enseignants, experts, praticiens - Français et étrangers - qui consacrent leurs travaux à la mondialisation du droit.

Quels sont les objectifs de ce réseau, comment utiliser le site Global Legal Studies Network (GLSN) ?

Quels sont les objectifs du réseau GLSN ?

Un peu partout dans le « monde » de la recherche, des centres sur la mondialisation du droit sont créés, des programmes d’enseignements et des revues lui sont consacrées. Des thèmes se précisent peu à peu : « global justice », « global governance », « global regulation »… – circulation des biens et des hommes, émergence ou mutation d’espaces culturels et politiques, régulation financière et commerciale… Les traditionnelles aires juridiques culturelles (common law, Europe, Afrique, Asie...) sont ainsi partiellement recomposées par des pratiques juridiques et pensées juridiques de plus en plus « mondiales ». Apparaît ce l’on pourrait nommer plus exactement une pensée « trans-continentale », au double sens de ce qui « traverse » un continent mais aussi de ce qui est « au-delà » d’un continent. Mettre en relation ces centres et ces chercheurs disséminés sur les continents, c’est alors permettre aux chercheurs français – et étrangers – de mieux se connecter tant aux grands débats scientifiques de cette pensée juridique mondiale qu’à cette communauté mondiale de chercheurs en cours de formation. C’est aussi permettre un dialogue renouvelé entre droit et sciences sociales, la recherche sur la mondialisation se caractérisant par un abandon du positivisme juridique et une ouverture aux sciences sociales (« law and… »). Le réseau permettra ainsi d’analyser et de mieux distinguer les thèmes émergents, ainsi que les lieux de recherche de cette mondialisation du droit. En assurant ce travail d’analyse, il facilitera les mises en relation et les projets de recherche communs.

Concrètement, le réseau prend dans un premier temps la forme d’un « portail » de la mondialisation du droit hébergé par la F.M.S.H. comme un de ses programmes « thématiques » (et non géographiques). La page d’accueil est réalisée en Html, afin de proposer une image du « globe » illustrant l’idée de globalisation. Des bulles représentent les « îles », qui sont autant de centres de recherche ou de réseaux français ou européens ou japonais.... sélectionnés par le coordonateur du réseau car particulièrement représentatifs d'un objet de la pensée juridique mondiale. Le site est animé par un « coordinateur », Gilles Lhuilier, et des « correspondants » soit par régions de la pensée juridique – bien différentes des traditionnelles « Aires culturelles » du droit comparé (Afrique, mondes Anglo-Saxons, Asies...) – soit par disciplines ou thèmes (par exemple, Isabelle Giraudou, chercheure à l’Institut français de recherche sur le Japon contemporain à Tokyo, suit l’« émergence d’une Aire Asiatique de business law » regroupant le Japon, la Chine, HK, Singapour, le Vietnam, l’Indonésie, l’Inde, mais aussi l’Afrique, en lien avec les différents IFREs (Instituts Français de Recherche à l’Étranger, Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes - CNRS). Un Rapport annuel sur la Mondialisation du Droit est publié par le groupe d'analyse....

Ce site, hébergé par la Fondation de la M.S.H. Paris est réalisé avec l’assistance technique de Laurent Cournède (IMN de Nantes) qui se charge des aspects informatiques du réseau. Un « conseil scientifique », ou mieux un « Groupe d’analyse » est composé du « coordinateur », des « correspondants » et de personnalités du monde de la recherche.

Le coordonateur du réseau GLSN, Gilles Lhuilier, peut être joint par mél : glsn_at_orange.fr.

Comment utiliser le site GLSN ?

Le site « Global legal studies Network » offre actuellement six entrées :

Présentation du réseau
Portail de la mondialisation
Analyse de la mondialisation
Actualité mondiale
Global legal podcasts, videos
Centres de recherche sélectionnés
Revues académiques de GLS sur le net
Actualité de GLSN

Comment utiliser ces entrées ?


Portail de la mondialisation

Les liens de cette page renvoient à des sites du Web liés au droit international et à la mondialisation du droit, indispensables aux chercheurs et praticiens. Les liens sont soit des sites généraux, moteurs de recherche permettant de trouver des sources dans le monde du droit, soit plus spécifiquement des sites qui permettent d’avoir accès aux traités internationaux, des sites institutionnels des États, des sites d’Institutions Internationales, des sites des Cours et Tribunaux internationaux de justice, des sites d’organisations internationales non gouvernementales, des sites de sociétés savantes internationales, des sites de portails locaux regroupés par continents (Afrique, Asie, etc.). Voir par exemple les sites du continent Asie, plus spécialement Japon.

Ces liens constituent un outil de travail qui se veut exhaustif. Ils sont donc d'une autre nature que les liens des « Centres de recherche sélectionnés » par GLSN. Les liens de la page « Portail de la mondialisation » doivent donc être complétés par ceux de la page « Centres de recherche sélectionnés ».


Analyse de la mondialisation

Un « conseil scientifique », ou mieux un « Groupe d’analyse », est composé du « coordinateur », des « correspondants » et de personnalités du monde de la recherche. Ce « groupe », une fois par an, tente d’analyser et de mieux distinguer les thèmes émergents, ainsi que les lieux de recherche de cette mondialisation du droit. Ce faisant il réalisera une véritable « carte » de la pensée juridique mondiale, pensée sur le droit positif ou de théorie du droit.

Les hypothèses scientifiques de ce travail de recherche collectif sur la pensée juridique mondiale contemporaine sont exposées dans un texte d’une dizaine de pages : pensée « trans-continentale », basculement du positivisme à une pensée herméneutique, pensée pure et pensée critique, objets de droit positif et objets de théorie, etc. On trouvera surtout une ébauche de ce que sont les « continents de la pensée juridique », cette pensée juridique propre aux différentes cultures juridiques. On trouvera également une définition de ces « espaces de pensée » comme espaces de pratique/théorie ; une esquisse de ce qu’est une « cartographie de la pensée juridique », avec ses « rochets, îles, îlots » ; ainsi qu’une liste provisoire de ces objets-espaces de la pensée juridique contemporaine :

1) Alliance or Clash of Civilizations?
2) A Legal and Political Analysis;
3) Secularism and Rule of Law;
4) Efficiency, Sustainability, and Justice to Future Generations;
5) Formal and Substantial Reasoning in Legal Interpretation and Adjudication;
6) How General is General Jurisprudence;
7) Human Dignity and the Foundation of the Rule of Law;
8) Corporate Governance in China …


Actualité mondiale

Ce lien renvoie à des sites sur l’actualité du droit mondial. Soit des sites d’actualité spécialisés par matières (par exemple en droit international criminel, voir « Actualité du droit pénal international »), soit par continents. Par exemple pour la Chine, est sélectionné le site officiel d’information (China Daily), mais aussi les deux principaux sites chinois alternatifs. Cette page permet de faire une recherche sur l’actualité d’un thème (par exemple les fusions-aquisitions) sur divers continents.


Global legal podcasts, videos

Ce lien renvoie à des podcasts d’universités qui enregistrent leurs conférences et événements scientifiques, ce qui offre un panorama des questions, mais aussi à des podcasts de personnes représentatives de ce que l’on peut nommer la pensée juridique mondiale. Voir par exemple le site de la London School of Economics, qui se veut une tribune pour ce débat mondial.


Centres de recherche sélectionnés

Ce lien renvoie à des centres de recherche qui sont particulièrement représentatifs de cette pensée juridique mondiale. Cette section permet de connaître comment sont formulées les problématiques actuelles dans les centres de recherches sur tel ou tel domaine de droit positif (par exemple sur le droit de l’OMC, voir l’Institut for Globalization and International Regulation de l’Université de Maastricht). Cette sélection permet aussi de réaliser cette cartographie de la pensée juridique mondiale, par exemple en comparant les « African Studies » aux États-Unis (IAS), en Grande-Bretagne (SOAS), et en Afrique (CODESTRIA).

Cette sélection est nécessairement subjective, bien qu’elle suive les hypothèses de recherche développées par « GLSN ». Ainsi, au Japon, deux grandes universités auraient vocation à être sélectionnées : l’Université de Tokyo et l’Université Waseda. Or, bien que le rayonnement international de la première soit incontestablement supérieur, c’est l’Institut de Droit Comparé de l’Université Waseda qui a été choisi, car il ne regarde plus nécessairement vers l’Ouest – le droit comparé étant une science occidentale – mais aussi vers l’Est, et tente d’inventer un droit comparé proche des Asian Studies, tout en étant porteur de « valeurs » et « catégories » plus spécifiquement japonaises. C’est en ce sens que cette sélection traduit une tendance de cette pensée juridique mondiale en construction.


Revues de GLS sur le net

Ce lien renvoie en premier lieu à des listes les plus exhaustives possible de journaux académiques disponibles sur le net dans le monde entier et, en second lieu, à une sélection de quelques « global revues » qui permettent d’avoir accès aux thèmes et auteurs de cette « planète » des Global Legal Studies. On y trouve par exemple Berkeley Electronic Press (Online academic press of Berkeley University, y compris « Global Jurist » and « Asian Journal of Comparative Law »), mais aussi le « Global Policy Journal », la dernière revue de global legal studies, créée par la London School of Economics.


Actualité de GLSN

Cette entrée renvoie aux recherches communes des membres du réseaux, de leurs workshops/séminaires/colloques, des réseaux auxquels GLSN participe, ou encore des publications. Cette dernière entrée renverra bientôt à une collection de livres dédiés au GLS, publiant notamment le rapport annuel de GLSN, ainsi qu'à une chaire itinérante de Global Law - Global Legal Studies, consistant en un réseau de « short term visiting professors ». Les auteurs sont invités à contacter glsn_at_orange.fr.

FMSH
GLSN GLSN

Réseau de la Mondialisation du Droit

anglais